Only if you touch just one heart….

 

About a week ago, I had to explain to my mother that I love her no matter what. I knew it would take effort to convince her of this, so I wrote her a long message on Facebook. Just expressing to her that I understand the depth of her hurt and how she only knows how to beat herself up because that is all she received as a child. That I forgive her for her mistakes, I love her for who she is, and I will never judge or criticize her. I told her how much I love seeing her spend time with her grandbabies and I wish she could see how much she has to live for. I know how strong she is, as she showed me how to endure. She wrote me back and said she had tears in her eyes because of what I wrote. I was able to touch her heart. Amen

 

I always pray for God to touch other’s hearts but, didn’t realize until tonight that I have the ability to touch hearts with expressing my words of love, encouragement, my own self-defeat, and my tiny victory’s.

One comment on “Only if you touch just one heart….

  1. It is amazing how little it takes to warm someone’s heart, almost as little as it takes to hurt someone. Yet people do the latter without thinking and rarely bother to do the former. Why is that? People could so easily practice the simple kindnesses of reaching out and saying a kind word to a stranger or writing a postcard to someone they have thought about…instead they carp at a waitress or storeclerk or they insult a friend etc…They hurt so many people with an ease they are blithely unaware of, though for all that they are also easily hurt too. I don’t get it. I don’t get it. But you should know that every time you do those little kindnesses, they are welcomed and appreciated. Believe me. Whenever anyone, for instance, uses my name in conversation when they need not, I notice, I notice when someone does anything nice to or for me. People register those sorts of things. Just as they do the hurtful things. So whether it is your mother or a stranger, know that what you do everyday in the large and the small things matters. It affects people, and it changes them in large and in small ways that matter.

Leave a Reply

